We are happy to share an article that addresses this year’s winner of the Nobel Prize for Peace and a selection of articles by winners in all the other categories, all available to read free on JSTOR.


Awarded to John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences states that “Through their work, they have created the right conditions for a wireless and fossil fuel-free society, and so brought the greatest benefit to humankind.”

Mastering the interface for advanced all-solid-state lithium rechargeable batteries
Yutao Li, Weidong Zhou, Xi Chen, Xujie Lü, Zhiming Cui, Sen Xin, Leigang Xue, Quanxi Jia, John B. Goodenough
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, November 22, 2016


Awarded to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo, and Michael Kremer for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty. The Academy explains that “Their research has already helped in alleviating global poverty and has great potential to further improve the lives of the most impoverished people on the planet.”

Microcredit Under the Microscope: What Have We Learned in the Past Two Decades, and What Do We Need to Know?
Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee
Annual Review of Economics, 2013

More Than 1 Billion People Are Hungry in the World
Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo
Foreign Policy, May/June 2011

What Do Banks (Not) Do?
Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo
Economic and Political Weekly, September 18-24, 2004

Globalization of Labor Markets and Inequality
Michael Kremer
Brookings Trade Forum, 2006


The 2018 prize was awarded to the Polish author Olga Tokarczuk “for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life” and 2019 was awarded to the Austrian author Peter Handke “for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience.”

VOYAGE BY DUGOUT or The Play of the Film of the War
Peter Handke, translated by Scott Abbott 
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, May 2012

A Successful Day
Peter Handke
The Threepenny Review, Summer 1994

From Essay on the Jukebox
Peter Handke, translated by Krishna Winston
Grand Street, Summer 1994

Kunicki: Water II from Runners
Olga Tokarczuk, translated by Jennifer Croft
BOMB, Winter 2014-2015

Professor Andrews Goes to Warsaw: December 1980
Olga Tokarczuk, translated by Kim Jastremski
Chicago Review, 2000


Awarded to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali for his important work in promoting reconciliation, solidarity, and social justice. According to the award committee, “Ali has initiated important reforms that give many citizens hope for a better life and a brighter future.” 

Ethiopian Renaissance or How to Turn Dysfunctional in to Functional
Hanna Rubinkowska-anioł
Politeja, 2018


Awarded for contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth’s place in the cosmos, with one half to James Peebles for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology and the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.

Dark matter
James E. Peebles
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, October 6, 2015

Exoplanets: the quest for Earth twins
Michel Mayor, Stephane Udry, Francesco Pepe, Christophe Lovis

Philosophical Transactions: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences, The detection of extra-terrestrial life and the consequences for science and society, February 13, 2011

Physiology or Medicine

Awarded jointly to William G. Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, and Gregg L. Semenza for their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability; they identified molecular machinery that regulates the activity of genes in response to varying levels of oxygen.

Inhibition of the oxygen sensor PHD2 in the liver improves survival in lactic acidosis by activating the Cori cycle
Tomohiro Suhara, Takako Hishiki, Masataka Kasahara, Noriyo Hayakawa, Tomoko Oyaizu, Tsuyoshi Nakanishi, Akiko Kubo, Hiroshi Morisaki, William G. Kaelin Jr., Makoto Suematsu, Yoji Andrew Minamishima
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, September 15, 2015

Sudestada1, a Drosophila ribosomal prolyl-hydroxylase required for mRNA translation, cell homeostasis, and organ growth
Maximiliano J. Katz, Julieta M. Acevedo, Christoph Loenarz, Diego Galagovsky, Phebee Liu-Yi, Marcelo Pérez-Pepe, Armin Thalhammer, Rok Sekirnik, Wei Ge, Mariana Melani, María G. Thomas, Sergio Simonetta, Graciela L. Boccaccio, Christopher J. Schofield, Matthew E. Cockman, Peter J. Ratcliffe, Pablo Wappner
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, March 18, 2014

Hypoxia induces the breast cancer stem cell phenotype by HIF-dependent and ALKBH5-mediated m⁶A-demethylation of NANOG mRNA
Chuanzhao Zhang, Debangshu Samanta, Haiquan Lu, John W. Bullen, Huimin Zhang, Ivan Chen, Xiaoshun He, Gregg L. Semenza
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, April 5, 2016